isbi

By isbi

MonoMonday: Something I Treasure

This letter, utilising front and back of the paper, was written by my father (aged 13) and his sister (about 10 yrs) from their farm in western NSW, Australia to their uncle in Dundry, England.
My father would have had memories of visiting them when he was about 4 but I doubt my aunt had ever met her English family at that stage.
It must have been soon after this that they returned to England where my grandmother's heart always lay. However my father didn't stay long but returned to help his father on the farm. His mother and two sisters returned home when WW2 broke out. It was an arduous journey, zigzagging in a convoy of ships, and they were torpedoed near Tasmania before eventually arriving safely.
Naturally I treasure this bit of family history.
Thanks Pinkhairedlady for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.