One day at a time

By MikeSlade

Reflecting

I’m struggling a bit with Father’s Day today even though dad died in January 2000.
At church we sang ‘I heard the voice of Jesus say’ which I chose at dad’s funeral and then ‘Eternal Father, strong to save’ which I didn’t choose at his funeral but he was a merchant seaman for much of his life so it is close to my heart.
Also the vicar in his sermon said that the Eucharist is the heart of the Church (with which I agree) and I find it difficult that so many churches now have holy communion once a month maybe and participation in a weekly communion means quite a drive if you live in some rural areas. And if you want communion celebrated by a man it can mean a very long drive - that’s not my tradition but it is for some people I know.
So, a number of things going on with me today.
Fiona asked me what I fancied for lunch so she is making me home made Kate and Sidney pie and mashed potatoes because she wants to make sure I know I’m loved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.