AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

Bookend Pekinese dog

This piece of porcelain is from the Gotha Pfeffer factory in Germany, circa 1920. It goes back to my earliest memories, being part of the possessions my parents brought with them when we immigrated to Australia. I didn't much like it even then which goes a long way to explaining why it's still in perfect condition. A not-played-with dog.

When my mother gave up living in her house the porcelain dog and her real cat came with me. The  real dog went with my brother. We figured we were about evens. 

I can't see it working as a bookend (of which there is meant to be a pair) unless you had a small number of small books. Not Ulysses, or War and Peace. Anyway, so you could see it in 'action', I found a nice box against which I could abut its butt. It's not super tiny at about 10cm high, but it's smaller than a real one. The extra is the stamp on the base. 

Just for fun I put it through Google Lens and it came up with one identical for sale on eBay. $400 asking price. Fancy that. 

Thanks for hosting SK. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.