PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Those discarded ties

I thought I would record what I have done with the old ties that I was taking apart the other day. I wanted to have a bit of a play with Crazy Patchwork and this is the stage I am at. The placing of the pieces was far harder than I thought it would be and I am not sure whether I have the balance of colours and textures right, maybe the blue pieces were not a good idea. But there it is - well it isn’t anything as yet, just a bit of an experiment and me playing. I have learnt a lot and am happy to try another piece. 

Crazy Patchwork was very much a Victorian activity. It was never meant to be utilitarian like other patchwork, they used scraps of opulent fabrics, silk. brocades, velvets, and colourful threads. Once pieced and tacked down, elaborate embroidery decorated the seams and lots of embellishments were added - buttons, ribbons, lace, beads, feathers, silk flowers - anything really. It all fit in well with the Victorian obsession with over-statement. 

I have started a little embroidery but whether I will get much further I don’t know. I doubt I will get to the embellishment stage! ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.