There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Summer View Looking Up Tow Hill

The northeastern U.S. has entered into a heat wave that is not typical for June. We usually get our hottest weather in the month of July. However, here it is, a month early. We are expecting nearly a week of days where temperatures may go as high as the low 90s F (more than 32 C).

I don't know about you, but that's a bit too hot for me! I'm a cold-weather chica; I try to keep a tiny bit of winter in my heart to get me through the hot times, but sometimes it's still tough. . . . It might be time to get out a good cold-weather movie: something like Cliffhanger, or maybe K2, or Vertical Limit. That always helps, psychologically speaking: gets my head back in the snow-time, where it belongs.

We had one air conditioner in the bedroom already; it went in a month or more ago. But late last week, after dragging that heavy sucker up the front stairs, we installed the BIG air conditioner in the living room window. NOW the house can be completely cool anytime we want it to be (as long as the power stays on).

I've adjusted my routines in order to deal with the heat. Some days I've gone swimming instead of walking. On days that I walk, I try to get out earlier than I had been, and I choose routes that have decent amounts of shade on them. With a pull to my left knee last week that I'm still nursing a little bit, I've also adjusted my walking time downward. Just for a little while; perhaps as long as this heat wave lasts.

Here is a very green view of Tow Hill from my morning walk on this quite toasty day (though it "only" got to 86 in our own backyard). I know you're more used to seeing it dressed in snow in winter time, when it is quite fetching indeed. So here is a companion piece, if you will: a view of Tow Hill in summer greens.

And now here is a song to go with this view, on a day in which I walked early, kept to the shade, adjusted my walking time down, and walked a bit more slowly: the Eagles, with Take It Easy.

Some helpful links:
9 Tips to Beat the Heat
20 Strategies to Stay Cool in the Heat This Summer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.