curns' corner

By curns

Rest, but not enough

I was exhausted after last night's disco, even though it was all done at midnight. As a result, I wasn't in a great mood and felt drained all day. PY and I disagreed about getting the washing machine - which has been obstructing part of the kitchen since the drainage engineer was here last Monday - back into its space. By the time I had rested up and was awake enough to head out for dinner, he'd magically returned the washing machine to the correct location and secured everything. This brightened the day.

Before we headed out for the evening, we learned that Sadiq was re-elected and by the time I was heading home, I heard Andy Street had lost in the West Midlands. While my natural mayoral vote goes to Labour, I’ve listened to a number of interviews Andy Street has done and they highlight the differences in politics between Westminster and the regional offices. I was sad he lost as he seemed to have had a positive effect on the West Midlands; he certainly is very positive in his outlook.

We walked up to The Dog and Fox in Wimbledon, where we met friends. After a couple of drinks, we headed to Carluccio's for dinner. We'd been allocated a pretty big space at the back of the restaurant, which was great. The meal was good, but I have had better there before. I wanted to try the Chicken Milanese Burger, which came in a brioche bun. The chicken was coated in rosemary breadcrumbs and served with pancetta, rocket, and fries. It was less tasty than I had hoped, but I am glad I went for it.

Even though I'd been resting for most of the day, I continued to feel drained, and so after the meal, when everybody else went to find another pub for a nightcap, I headed up. Walking alongside Wimbledon Common late at night, even the well-lit, built-up area I need to travel along is quite spooky. I was glad to be home and head to bed. My bedside lamp went off early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.