curns' corner

By curns

Lighting

The morning was back-to-back, although one of the meetings was wholly unnecessary, as it could have been done with a couple of questions via email. I had leftovers for lunch, and then I was able to reorder some of the work and determine the proper priority for some upcoming tasks I have for engineering. After every conversation with colleagues on other teams, I keep changing my mind about the correct sequence. I want to ensure all the work is as aligned as possible. I think our delivery team might be getting frustrated with my changing ideas.

Just after 5:30pm, I headed to Wimbledon. Now that it is confirmed we are going to the Garden Party - the invitations arrived earlier in the week with full instructions - I need to hire a morning suit. There is a Moss Bros. inside Elys department store. The Moss Bros. website said it was open until 7pm so I thought I could, at least, make an appointment for a fitting tomorrow.
When I arrived in Wimbledon, PY was getting off a train. Unusually for a Friday, he'd been in the office. We met and walked to the shop, only to discover it was closed at 6pm. I will have to return tomorrow.

We took advantage of the warm evening and decided to go for a drink. The Alexandra was packed, but the patio behind All Bar One had some seats at outdoor tables, so we had a couple of drinks. Jo called while we were sitting outside, and as the conversation continued, I ordered another drink. I asked for a medium but was served a large. An All Bar One small is what everybody else thinks of as a medium. We came inside to drink the last one as it was chilly. I was impressed by All Bar One on a sunny Friday night: not too busy and quick bar service. The lampshades above the bar are distracting enough while you are waiting.

We headed home, but the enthusiasm to cook is always quashed by a few drinks, and if neither of us sticks to our guns, then we cave to a takeaway. Tonight, it was a kebab. As always, it was delicious, but I fully expect to wake with a dry mouth in the morning as the food is saltier than almost anything else I eat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.