curns' corner

By curns

Top hat

I was very intentional about getting up and ready well before 8 am. Today was the day my hired morning suit was being delivered, and I couldn't afford to miss the delivery as I needed it for the Garden Party tomorrow. I had meetings scattered throughout the day, including our long sprint planning meeting. Today, that ran shorter than usual as we'd done much of the planning work over the past few weeks. DPD also messaged with an hour time slot. I was so nervous about missing the delivery that I decided to work from the sofa during the delivery slot. I didn't need to spend the whole time downstairs as the delivery was in the middle of the window.

I was surprised it turned up in a large cardboard box, but when I thought about it, I realised that's the best way to ensure it's transported OK by courier. After a meeting in the early afternoon, I tried on the trousers and jacket, just to make sure, but I didn't try the lighter-coloured waistcoat as I stabbed the end of my finger on something in the box, and it started bleeding. I thought it would be safest to leave those items plastic-wrapped for now.

I am still unsure about the top hat. I think it looks pretty impressive, but I am not sure that I will wear it, and I am certain that I won't be able to walk without it tumbling to the floor. I am relieved that part of the planning went OK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.