A musical farewell to Mary

Today was Aunty Mary's funeral. It was a moving and beautiful service for a very special lady. Each member of the family was involved in one way or another. Mary would have loved it!

Glorious to have the sunshine, but we did all start to boil as we stood by the graveside.

After the burial we went to the local golf club for the funeral tea. It was really quite lovely, sitting on the terrace over looking the golf course.

Not sure how many players were put off their swing when Pete's talented musical cousins, Gabriel, Eddie and Seamus, treated us all to an impromptu gig. It was wonderful and joyful and the perfect way to celebrate Mary's life.
A great day and good to catch up with all the family.

I only actually walked about 500 yards, in total, today and I have still managed to acquire 2 monster blisters on one foot. I should have worn my trusty black sandals but I got this idea in my head that it would be disrespectful to wear open toe shoes at a funeral - don't ask me why!!- So I wore the new, unbroken in, shoes. What a fool I was, especially when I noticed that the Priest was wearing sandals.

Rambling, rambling.....my thoughts, not my feet.

I've got behind again with comments but I will catch up with you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.