SonofLionel

By SonofLionel

Yabbie-Dabbie Do Day

Fred Flintstone would be proud!
This morning, Mrs SoL was walking the dog when she drew my attention to this creature at the roadside.  A Crayfish (crawfish or écrevisse), or “Yabbie” in Australia.
It was several hundred metres from the nearest water.  I can only imagine last night’s storms caused it to wander.  It was NOT friendly. Claws up and very aggressive!
Odd, I thought. 
Then I went into town and, because I had my camera, decided to snap away at the river (Charente) that runs through the town.
Imagine my surprise when I looked down at the shallows to see hundreds of the little b…….rs swimming around!
 Extra pics are of them in the water.
Invasive, not native, but delicious all the same!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.