I Witness

By KangaZu

Eastern Black ...

... swallowtail.

We had our last Eastern black swallowtail butterfly emerge this morning.  I could tell by the change in the chrysalid yesterday that the day was coming soon so I wasn't surprised when Richard told me he had emerged this morning.  This lovely has been enclosed in his chrysalid in one of our butterfly enclosures since last October 19 so it was high time he emerged! I feel so blessed when we get to hold them in our hands as Richard is doing here. Please have a look full screen.

Now ... if we would only see some monarchs on all the milkweed we have growing in both the front and back gardens.  Then we can get started on our monarch butterfly nursery. 

It was extremely hot again today ... and more of the same tomorrow.  I've opted not to go anywhere besides the pool for a while this afternoon.  It felt wonderful. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.