Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Prognosis: Not Good

I foud this gull chick beside the boating lake in the local park.  It is either a herring gull or a lesser black-backed gull but either way, it shouldn't be here at this early stage of development when it is still depending on its parents to feed it.

Such gulls nest on local rooftops and at this age, they should still be up there.  Sometimes, a chick will get too adventurous and fall off a roof,  Its parents will still attempt to care for it on the ground but it is still vulnerabe to cats and traffic.

I suspect someone found it on a road and popped it into the park thinking it would be safer, but without its parents, it will starve.  If its parents knew it was there, they would have been dive-bombing me and screeching alarm calls.  They were not to be seen nor heard, so I fear the worst.

I will look into the park tomorrow to see if it is still around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.