Grimsayer

By Grimsayer

Steisaigh and Norse place-names

I love it when a place-name can be seen to be relevant. I have recently been trying to untangle some names and in particular two different islands called Steisaigh. It can be seen as the background of this photo.
I had come to the conclusion that the name came from Old Norse and meant 'island of the landing place'. I'd never been here before but walked over to the shore opposite the island and there were three excellent jetties for landing as well as a route cleared through to a tidal lagoon.
I am not saying that these remains are Norse but with a good landing site, it tends to be used and reused and so to my mind, this provided further eveidence of my interpretation of Steisaigh. Even Tricia was impressed.
The other such name is adjacent to Peter's Port on Benbecula, the most used landing place on the E coast of that island. More evidence perhaps?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.