seizetheday

By seizetheday

Solstice sunset (minus 28)

A wild goose chase this afternoon! Went into Holmfirth with MrM for a late lunch at Beattie's. Then attempted to buy a replacement ink cartridge, as I wanted to print off some lyrics before this evening, and had discovered this morning that there was no ink in the printer. (A mystery - I changed the cartridge recently!) Anyway, after traipsing around, realised that nowhere in the town sells ink cartridges. Then MrM kindly insisted on going to the nearest big supermarket where, we thought, they'd be bound to sell them. Wrong! Home after that, but our little jaunt made us both late getting out in the evening, and I arrived
at Soul Choir on time only because MrM gave me a lift!

On the way home, thought I may be able to take a photo of the sun setting at 21:51, the exact time of the Summer Solstice. But I was a little too early for that, which was just as well because the sun had all but gone down behind the hill when I took this at 21:23, 28 minutes before the actual solstice. Thick cloud and just a trace of the sunset in the sky by 21:51!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.