still trucking...

By johnsmiley1321

Meet Molly

. A long long time ago in a galaxy far far away… Oh wait, my mom isn’t THAT old.. Anyhow, she was working as a Soda Gal at a drugstore. For those young ones out there, that is a counter where you sat on a bar stool and ordered things like ice cream floats and… anyhow the manager of the store was Nancy’s mom. One day Nancy came in and my mom and her just clicked together. As they say, the rest is history – they have been friends ever since. A few side notes – this was the same place my mom met my dad – where he would order very thick milkshakes and my mom made it just like he liked them. Nancy’s son is a law enforcement officer that developed a program to de-escalate situations with autistic people that can also be used on the mentally ill and.. He was nationally recognized for that program and now goes to other cities departments and teaches that program – it has already proven to save lives. It was really good to see Nancy today as there was a lot of catching up to do. The photo is of Nancy’s cat Molly.

When we left it was because my mom was showing signs of being tired and that is also when she gets the most confused. I want to thank this community again for teaching me to be patient, how to listen and talk back to calm her down. She wanted to stop for ice cream and go home on the way back. We already had an expensive lunch out and my sister needed to get the rental van back to the company. She was quiet upset when we brought her back to the care facility with no ice cream. After my sister said goodbye, I sat with her to try and calm her down. Since she still wanted ice cream, I checked the freezer and found an Oreo ice cream sandwich. That was just fine for my mom. After that we talked a little, she told me she understood why we dropped her off there, and thanked me for a lovely day.

I will always wish I could do more for her but I do have to work, take care of myself and… sigh...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.