Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Meadow Blues

I’ve been wanting to try out some cyanotype photography for some time and finally bought a kit to make up the light sensitive coating solution. I treated some paper a few weeks ago and finally got round to using it today.

I selected grasses and wild flowers from my walk yesterday and garden as subject matter and got down to playing. The lighter prints are on cartridge paper which gave good tones but proved rather delicate when washing out the chemicals. The darker prints are on heavier watercolour paper which is still robust even when wet and is clearly the better medium.  I may also try adding some detail to those prints using my water colours and other media. They can also be toned further using things like soda and tea - more fun to be had provided I can find the time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.