fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

FAC 51

The Minx and I went to The Everyman, this evening, for a showing of 'The Godfather'. I'm fairly sure we've seen it here within the last twelve months, not that I was going to pass up a chance of seeing it again :-)

There was, as usual, a display of artwork in the long gallery space leading to the entrance to The Everyman. The current one is of my least favourite type: the recycling of imagery from times when I think pop culture was a little more vibrant, certainly more creative.

And given the fact that we can access all of the films, music, books, and arts of the last fifty years, why do we need these pale imitations?

I would love to believe that somehow and somewhere, lurking away from Spotify and Taylor Swift* and the constant recycling of cultural product, a new punk is gestating and ready to revitalise popular culture. 

*Not knocking Taylor per se, just the phenomenon around her. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.