Greenstead

By Greenstead

Music Festival Day 8

Today there were three events on. As part of the morning service two of the choral groups were singing during the service. With two further events on today, I decided to stay home and catch up with jobs. I’m told it was very good, but I am seeing the groups in concert, one of them, Amabile, was on today. Normally this is an all female ensemble of girls between 12 and 18, but a number of them had been struck down with illness so we had a few interlopers. It seems there is more than one Amabile choirs and, as the conductor told us, they hade been given a dress and two hours practice prior to the performance. They did very well, snatching ‘victory ‘ from ‘defeat’. As I completely forgot to take a picture, I have used the page from the music festival programme to show this talented group.
Today’s evening concert was a jazz event. I saw the Claire Cope Quintet. Most of the music was written by Claire, who you can see at the far left of my blip. I wasn’t expecting to see a harp, but it worked well with the other instruments. And we had some great vocals too. An excellent, if tiring, day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.