Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

No fish today

Mother and daughter were off to spend the day in Princes Street, hoping to spend various vouchers. I decided to visit the Botanic gardens as I hadn't been for a while - I thought I would spend the whole day there. Two things made it difficult. Firstly, all the places where I used to park were now either ticketed - at £3.80 per hour! - and so I drove further away and eventually found somewhere free and returned by bus! I have a free pass, so that was OK. Then when I got in I remembered that the glasshouses were in the process of total restoration and all were closed. A Botanics man told me that the Alpine House was open, but when I finally got there it was to find that it was only open at weekends! Grrr! I had a good time walking round though, and walked up to the café in the hope of having a bowl of soup for lunch, to find the the Soup of the Day was Carrot and Parsnip, which I didn't fancy!

I took the bus back to the car and drove westwards to the new Forth Bridge and crossed into North Queensferry. The two hotels and a pub were all closed permanently - I think the new bridge might have something to do with that. Eventually I walked down to the Deep Sea World, Scotland's National Aquarium with the biggest collection of fish. I went to the café there and ordered fish and chips, to be told that they were out of fish! I asked if I could have shark and chips, and at least the lad had the grace to laugh!

After taking plenty of pictures - the rail bridge is my Blip today - I crossed back over the river and spent a while in South Queensferry before returning to my daughter's flat. An odd day, but quite enjoyable!

Quote of the Day: 'French fries kill more people than guns and sharks, yet nobody's afraid of French fries.' - Robert Kiyosaki.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.