BoydMcAdam

By BoydMcAdam

Paddington

For the first time in nearly 6 years I’ve been in central London. Admittedly I was just passing through and much by underground from Kings Cross to Paddington. But it felt good to be back where I spent 2 and a half years in the mid-1980s. A lot has changed but there are still the familiar sounds of the Tube.

As I left Paddington to head to Reading I even glimpsed the street where I lived in Ealing, though the trees had grown! The train’s air conditioning w as jammed full on and the conductor kept apologising it might be too cold and if you were suffering or uncomfortable advised getting off and catching a later train. I found it pleasant even though the heatwave had eased.


I am staying with my brother and family as we have a funeral of an aunt near Guildford tomorrow. She was the last of our parents’ generation. My brother is a dab hand at home made bread and pizza, the latter being cooked in his pizza oven. Delicious. Their garden also has some resonance with Scotland with two giant thistles. See extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.