YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

All The Fun Of The Fair - Part 2

Following on from yesterday's Blip of my trip to the fair, I found this old photo of my mam, dad and my older sister taken at the fair in 1951,  It's quite faded but I think I can see the outline of a tent on the left hand side.  Lot's and lots of people there like the schoolboy in the right hand side of the photo.  

Extra shows the back of the photo and the date 1951 along with the words Town Moor, Race Week.  It became known as Race Week as the Pitman's Derby horse race (now known as the Northumberland Plate) took place during that week.  Miners were given time off work to attend.
  
The race took place at Gosforth Park which is just a short distance from the Town Moor.  The race meeting still take place over three days and it started yesterday.  

The other extra is of myself and my son C at the fair.  It was taken in 1995 when my son was almost 4.  My son wanted to go on the horse named John as it had the same name as his uncle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.