KateH

By KateH

Rather her than me

First thing I walked down to Haunn, where we’ve usually stayed but just as far as the gate into the Coronation Meadow.  Usually we ‘ve been a bit later but with the cool summer I was pleased to see a lot of Burnett roses still around.  Quite a favourite of mine which I normally miss.  No Meadowsweet yet so everyone is spared my meadowsweet cordial. 

We had a bowl of soup at the cafe at the gallery and when we finally made onto to Calgary beach it was quite empty but filled with seaweed and hundreds of beached jellyfish.  Vikram was well wrapped up in a woolly hat and scarf but this brave soul marched into the water in a swimsuit albeit with a woolly hat on as well.  And swimming gloves and shoes.  Her husband shivered in a dry robe muttering ‘I suppose I’m going to have to join her’.  

We shopped in Dervaig for the week and went and looked at the new bakery business which does crab and lobster rolls but which hardly seems to be ever open.  Recalibrated the calendar to make sure we got a taste later in the week.  

Went up to Charlotte’s for a drink with her and Athol before taking her out to dinner at the lovely A Bord. I ate pork belly with delicious potatoes and, get this, knotweed!  Eat your enemy one stalk at a time!  I was told it tasted a bit like rhubarb and puréed it sort of did.  Tangy and delicious and excellent with the pork.  

The weather looks cold all week but at least there will be gaps in the rain. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.