Chris_P

By Chris_P

‘An Old Gate’

This old gate is on the Water of Leith Walkway, just up from Stockbridge.
It leads directly to a house that I knew in the early 60s, owned by friends of my parents.
The house was a bit special as it was a detached house in its own garden surrounded by trees on the edge of the Water of Leith. You reached it through India Place - an architecturally interesting early 1800s street of terraced houses, without front gardens or basement areas, that followed the line of the river. However, by the time I knew the street, it had fallen into such disrepair (and state of overcrowding) that it had been earmarked for ‘slum clearance.’
I remember I was a bit fascinated by the contrast!

The old terrace is long gone, and the house is now named St Bernard’s Cottage. It is anything but a ‘cottage’ - it has been extensively modernised and extended and, if anyone fancies it, I was amazed to find that it is currently on sale - for offers over £2,850,000!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.