Journies at home

By journiesathome

Jelly babies

I drove home carefully, as if I had a newborn child on the seat beside me.  It was, in fact, a treacle pudding which Jo had given me in a shallow bowl.

Newborns have predominated today.  We've seen two which lead us to believe that seeing a third would presage the birth of a child into our family before next year's end.

The first was bundled on it's mother's lap, burrowed into her body.  It was still feotal; the back of it's hands folded against it's cheeks, arms and legs folded softly in.  The second was being lifted out of the back of a car, a little star fish shaped creature, momentarily back lit by the sun before being placed in a pram. 

Meanwhile my own first born had regressed to childhood and was playing 'guess the jelly baby flavour' with Jasmine.

We never saw the third.  The pudding didn't spill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.