Hill Top Ramblings

By janepetleyjones

Rose veilchenblau

This is a rambling rose, and it has climbed high up in my hedge. I found a stem I could reach in the spring and pulled it down to drape over a bough of the poplar tree. It’s flowering very well now, especially at the top of the hedge! It has a good scent, fruity with a hint of violets. The colour of the blooms gradually fades to a greyish lilac, that can look almost blue, hence its name perhaps.
There is always a quest for a blue rose, but none have succeeded yet. I think roses should be pink!
My hydrangea this year is a good blue colour, almost like it was in its pot. It went through a very mauve period when I planted it in my garden, and I have been feeding it on coffee grounds, which seems to have worked!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.