Groggster

By Groggster

Midnight Blue And Tinplate Yellow

O.K so I might have used poetic licence in the title as it hadn't actually struck the midnight hour (officially that would be the next day's image anyway!) but it was still pretty late in the day when I took this shot. I hadn't see much all day until I stuck my head outside our back door again just as the light was fading and I could see these tiny dark blue flowers in one of our garden pots but they needed a background to set them off - so why not use a yellow tinplate Garfield I found discarded in the street last year toppled onto it's side and set off some fill in flash to make the colours pop - et viola! 
Midnight Blue is actually an official colour. It's a dark shade of blue named for its resemblance to the apparently blue colour of a moonlit night sky around a full moon. It is identifiably blue to the eye in sunlight or full-spectrum light, but can appear black under certain more limited spectra sometimes found in artificial lighting - especially early 20th century incandescent light. 
I thought I should end today's blip with some music - an 80's rock banger by Lou Gramm called, of course, Midnight Blue - unfortunately I was unable to find a corresponding track entitled Tinplate Yellow! :-)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4G_0A8Cdkw

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.