Trisharooni

By trisharooni

"Remind me again. Why did I come to Katoomba.....?

As Australian blippers will know, and even some from other parts of the globe, Katoomba is a tourist town, renowned for its scenery.
When I saw this young woman sitting in a café, I was reminded that many years ago I had booked a weekend getaway to Katoomba with my mother.
The plan had been to cheer her up, as my father had recently died..
The weather had been like today, hovering around 5' and miserable.
No views were to be seen, our accommodation was disappointing and no fun was had, so we cut our losses and went home.
As I write I'm reminded of another blipper who had a similar experience only recently:)

Undeterred, I booked another weekend at Port Stephens where the sun was shining, the food was good and we found plenty of reasons to laugh our heads off, so mission accomplished after all.

I love the beautiful curved glass of the Savoy buildings, but most of them are closed now, along with many other shops.
Katoomba's revitalisation is a bit like Parramatta Rd's - always about to happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.