Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Miss MacIntosh, My Darling

I'm preparing to list my signed first edition of Marguerite Young's Miss MacIntosh, My Darling on ebay. A friend in South Africa needs some money for her daughter and newborn granddaughter, as the baby's father is not accepting any responsibility, and I have nothing else of any value to sell. 

I don't know if anyone will want my old book, as I stupidly threw away the dustcover, and it's battered, worn, and watermarked, but I hope it's worth something.

I met Young when I was a creative writing major at the University of Arizona in 1966. I was then twenty and pregnant, married to an abusive man. I had spent the money for our weekly groceries to buy her book, and I was frightened. I confessed this to Miss Young (as we called her then), and she signed my book (see Extra), patted my hands, and said, "I hope you can sell this book for something some day." 

Until now I wasn't willing to part with the book, as it has given me many hours of happy escape, and for years I wanted to be like her: eccentric, dressed in a cape with bells and feathers. I never became quite that eccentric, and I never have read her book all the way through. I should mention that it is 1198 pages long, stream of consciousness, without a plot. I have never met anyone who has read it from cover to cover, but it provides hours of fascinating reading. 

I really want to help Libuseng take care of that newborn granddaughter.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.