Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Birthday Girl

From left to right, Jenny, Marjory and Mary. 
No feathered birds today but I will call these girls a species, Puella amicis 
 
This morning they celebrated Marjory's 91st Birthday.  She is amazing!
She still drives up and down to Dundee to sing in a choir, goes for regular singing lessons and is very much up for every event possible. What a star!

It's not the first time I've uttered the words, that the world is a small place, this week. 

I told Marjory that we lived in Kilmacolm as children and that I went to St. Columba's before moving to Dundee and attending High School.  She asked when I was there and it turns out she was teaching English there round about the same. I've been going back in time and trying to remember who my teachers were. I have memories of faces but very few names, however,  I have got my old school reports hidden somewhere in the house and will look them out to find if she taught me.
 
I showed my sister this photo explaining who they were and she was very excited as her husband's aunt also taught English and Drama at St Columba's for many years.   I asked if she remembered my brother in law's Aunt Elspeth. Oh yes, she remembered her. They haven't met since their teaching days, however, they have something in common. Both taught and have kept in close contact with a former pupil. That girl was the former Deputy Speaker of the House, Dame Eleanor Laing.  

Small world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.