Thepainterswife

By Thepainterswife

100....

I think this is my 100th blip!

Quite good for someone who doesn't have a great record for sticking to things for too long.....

I have put up this photo on this day as it is of a beautiful building that is around the 100 mark too, in years that is.....and until the Earthquakes it was probably going to stand on this spot for quite a few more.

I drove past it yesterday and noticed the men in orange fluro vests with their diggers and trucks were there starting to smash it up and thought I must get a pic of that lovely old lady before she disappears forever.

The ornate woodwork and verandahs are really special, I imagine that in her prime she would have been a really posh home, but in recent times I think she has been let go a bit. Still very sad to see these historic NZ buildings been demolished for just the cost of the salvaged pieces that are left......I ended up talking to the guys working on the site, and they said I was more than welcome to come and buy anything that I was interested in from their salvage yard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.