Living Geography

By geoblogs

Toon

Over to Ely to park up and then train to Peterborough before picking up an LNER Azuma to Newcastle.The weather got worse as I headed north, and it was raining when I arrived in Newcastle. Met by the person who runs the Geographical Association branch in the city. Caught the Metro to Haymarket and walked to Northumbria University. I was there to give a Memorial Lecture for Cath White, who had run the branch for many years, received awards from the GA and RGS in 2021, and then died suddenly after a short illness. It was an emotional event with Cath's widower and some of her friends there. I think everyone was appreciative of what I had to say. Into the city for food and drink and then down to the river to find my hotel, and the rain stopped play in terms of exploring. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.