Melisseus

By Melisseus

Time Out

A moment of calm in a day of activity. There was no need to visit the bees; I didn't do anything while I was there, or learn anything, except that they are indeed enjoying the warmer weather and coming and going in large numbers to take as much advantage as possible of the flush of summer flowers. I simply wanted to stand and watch, or not even watch, just hear the reassuring hum of a thousand wings, and look out on a seemingly timeless scene - my form of escape from, or therapy for, the anxieties that are afflicting all of us. Is that because it's something over which I feel I have a degree of control? 

The cattle seem less curious about our activities than previous cohorts have been. We have not done beekeeping with an audience this year. Still, I love to see them, even if I will not be indulging in the rump steak on offer. The blackberries framing them are no doubt part of why the hive is so busy

There is nothing unusual, scenic or eye-catching in this picture, but looking at it makes me breathe more easily

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.