Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

The Death of a Redcoat

I noticed an advert for an event at the House of Dun. Meet the Jacobites & the Redcoats.. promising a small-scale historical camp, representing both sides of the Jacobean Rising in 1745.  
I've always loved the Sealed Knot reenactments and had hoped this would be a mini version.  In great expectation, my sister and I arrived with the weans, also known as the brats grandchildren.  The event was a husband and wife team, two small tents and a few relics demonstrating the life of the times. 
My disappointment soon changed to respect.  They put on such a wonderful show. They were entertaining, knowledgeable and oh-so patient.
The main excitement was a battle charge.  Armed with rubber swords and shields the children played the Jacobites and adults the Redcoats.  It was amazing!!  
I had the camera and my dog was going nuts,  rolling around in the grass, my sister's leg was obviously not going to allow her to join in so...Today's blip is the moment when the unsuspecting hosts found that they might have been ruing their unstated decision to take these three under their wings! 
They can look sweet and innocent but these kids, who look as though butter may not melt in their mouths are, in reality, evil monsters out to kill.  

My second photo is of the even more patient and amazing guide around the House of Dun and an unexpected magician, William Young. After our thoroughly enjoyable visit, miraculously, the children were alive and no artefacts were left broken. 

I couldn't resist also uploading a fortuitously timed snap of my great niece posing of the Statue of Liberty for 3 year olds 

The house is a surprising jewel, the onsite museum well laid out and interesting and the gardens and surrounding grounds superb.  It's well worth a visit if you're in the area. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.