Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

A simple act of kindness

My last day down south - off home tomorrow. I took the train as usual up to Waterloo and then the Underground, Northern Line extension, to Battersea Power Station. There's far too much information about the Power Station to repeat here, but worth Googling if you're interested. Briefly, building began in 1929 and by 1955 the building was doubled in size. At this point it was generating enough electricity for 20% of London's needs. It was closed in 1983 and over the next few years was bought and with the surrounding areas turned into a massive complex of shops, leisure facilities and all sorts of other things - it's hard to believe that anyone could do what has been done.

What I wanted to see however was not all the fashionable shops, but the lift up one of the chimneys. I booked this morning and to cut a long story short ended up in a glass lift which eventually popped out of the top! We were enclosed in glass so photos suffered from reflections, but it was still amazing. Later on I walked upstream and crossed the river by Chelsea Bridge so I could photograph the Power Station from the far bank, my Blip today. You can see the glass lift poking out of the chimney!

Anyway, before that I wandered along the bank looking for somewhere to have lunch, but all the cafes were foreign and I had no idea what everything was! In the end I found 'The Feel Good Bakery' van - my extra today - and ordered a croissant, a Pain au Chocolat and a can of drink from the two young ladies. It was only then that I discovered that they didn't accept cash, only cards. Unfortunately my card for some reason was not being accepted and so I had to apologise and withdraw my order. To my surprise one of them said 'Never mind, we'll give you the pastries' and her companion told me that I could have the drink free too! I couldn't believe it and told them that they'd made my day! They were so kind!

So then I crossed the river, walked on the far bank along to Vauxhall Bridge and recrossed and returned to Vauxhall station for the train back to Hampton. A great day, largely thanks to the kindness of the two girls!

Quote of the Day: 'How beautiful a day can be, when kindness touches it.' - George Elliston.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.