Hotmandarins

By Hotmandarins

Cymbal

This cymbal came with my first drum kit, a maroon olympic one with only two tom toms which I probably got in the mid-1980's.  I think I've seen one cymbal of the same brand in my career.  I had access to a snare drum from one of the bands I played in so I used to use the snare drum that came with the kit as a substitute tom tom.  With snares off, of course.

This cymbal is around 20" wide and It sounds terrible - as a ride cymbal.  I've used it as a gong substitute before, because that's what it sounds like when played with soft sticks.  The rivet holes came already drilled, I had fun putting paper fasteners in the holes years ago to make a sizzle effect.  I kept it because of the unique sound it had.  I think I've still got the cymbal stand it came with somewhere, it looked home made.

I can't remember where this drum kit ended up, I think it was sold to another pupil of my teacher and the money put towards the second hand APK one I talked about yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.