suehutton

By suehutton

And the Parrot came too!

I've long wanted to see a lavender field. A month or so ago, I saw the Yorkshire lavender farm advertising on Facebook. Well, Yorkshire is some distance away so I asked Google if there was anything in my area. Google came up with the Warwickshire lavender farm just south of Coventry, a 46 minute drive down the M1 and M69.

A lovely sunny, and hot, day to go there today. I was dismayed to discover that I couldn't negotiate the rough ground very well. It took me ages to get into position and hurt my feet as well. Perhaps I should wear socks.

The first view of the field was stunning (see extra), and there were bees I'm pleased to say. Not as many as there could be, but definitely bees gathering nectar.

On the way in we encountered two guys with long lenses on their cameras. I asked them if they'd got a Charlie Waite shot to which they rejoindered that I was obviously someone who knew about photography. We all regretted that we couldn't get into the field at sunrise and sunset for the light.

We retreated to the little café for a soft drink and a slice of GF lavender shortbread and ice cream. Other people had brought a picnic to eat under a huge tarpaulin. It was lovely.

Two visitors had brought their grey parrot. He had two peanuts for his lunch and a drink from a bottle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.