NCDNotts

By NCDWarks

Love your Enemies...

One of the most unique and challenging teachings of Jesus is found in Matthew 5:44; love your enemy.

At the ripe age of 35, I let go of the resentment held against my brother for what I deemed a life of bullying and living in his shadow. We hadn’t seen or heard from each other for 6 years at this point, but I knew it was wrong to harbour the emotions I felt against him, and I offloaded all of it to God and prayed to be free from it, and prayed that my brother would be well.

A few months later, my brother resurfaced from the silence, first making contact with our step-father. Another few months passed and we were meeting for the first time in a little over 6 years.

Two years on and his presence in my life is a real blessing, and I have a genuine appreciation for my brother. My boys absolutely love him. My wife, who also held the same resentment for him, now loves when we visit him - we never leave his home hungry or downhearted.

Why IKEA as the photo? I consider this place an enemy... Walking around an endless labyrinth of display rooms, each more obscene than the last, and typically when I'm not up for such an activity. Maybe one day I'll learn to love the place... But then again...

Challenge: think of someone you are harbouring a dislike or resentment for. Quietly take it to God and pray for peace over both of your lives.

Give to the one who begs from you, and do not refuse the one who would borrow from you.
You have heard that it was said, 'You shall love your neighbour and hate your enemy.'
But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,
so that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven. For he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust.
For if you love those who love you, what reward do you have? Do not even the tax collectors do the same?

Matthew 5:42-46 ESV

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.