Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Where Have All The Currants Gone?

Do you remember a time when currant teacakes were exactly what it says on the packet?  When I brought these home from the Coop, Tony's comment was that they looked like bread buns with a couple of currants pushed in.  It took me back to teacher training days at College in Middleton St George.  In my third year I lived out in Darlington in a huge barn of a Victorian house, Polam House, totally impractical, untouched by modern times and freezing in the winter months.  It was owned by elderly spinster sisters who spent their days in their haberdashery shop and they lived across the road in the twin of our house.  Angie and I had the upper floor and Gareth and Keith, two more students, lived downstairs.  I can hear you wondering what this has to do with currant teacakes?  When Angie and I had received our monthly grant topper uppers from parents we would go to the little bakery in the centre of town and treat ourselves to their posh version of currant teacakes, spice buns replete with currants, raisins, sultanas and bits of orange peel, no skimping on those!

I've just googled Polam House and from the exterior little has changed but my bedroom has a very nice blind and hopefully central heating!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.