Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Bonnefanten

My lovely Dutch family arrived safely yesterday. They've not been here since 2019 and although my niece and I zoom regularly it's not the same. 

To my amazement we managed to sit out last night and enjoyed being in the garden to eat and chat. Our daughter came round so there were seven of us. It's great to catch up with our great nephews, now 18 and 16. Fine young men. 

They brought various gifts (gluten free stroopwafels - bliss!) and my blip is a cushion made by craftswoman  Olivia Bertus. The design is the famous Bonnefanten Museum in Maastricht. I love it. 

This is a hasty blip and I know I won't have a lot of time today to look at journals. I want to spend all the time I can with the family before Cameraman, Flora and I leave. The house is in safe hands and we are almost packed. 

This time tomorrow (07:00) we should be arriving in Lerwick after the overnight ferry journey from Aberdeen. Anyone who wades through my journal will know that I have a strong attachment to the Northern Isles. Last time I was in Shetland, 2022, I came home with covid but honestly there's nothing I can think of that would put me off another trip. I'm fortunate to have been visiting Shetland for many years, both for work and for holidays, and I'm delighted to have arranged a visit this year. 

A cushion it is today but from tomorrow there will be different blips for a few days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.