DDon

By DDon

Gumby, Dammit...

Oregon Country Fair, 2013. Let's just say that I know Gumby on a very up close level. Ok, for three days a year, I AM Gumby. I wish I had a buck for every picture I've posed with as Gumby. I like the guy who has grabbed his dome trying to avoid the picture...ooh, almost!

Who doesn't love Gumby? Right here about three years ago, in a similar pose with young ladies, I heard a voice behind me say, "Gumby gets all the action." Here's what else I hear: "Where's Pokey?" "I'm Gumby, dammit!" "Hey, Gum." "Dude, it's gotta be hot in there."

The Country Fair is the three best days of the year. Crazy, creative fun on the same location we saw our first Grateful Dead show nearly 41 years ago, August 27, 1972. There is really no explaining the Oregon Country Fair... it must be experienced.

Day two tomorrow (Saturday). More Gumby action, more music, more tie dye...It's the Oregon Country Fair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.