SilverImages

By SilverImages

St.Bartholomew's, Vowchurch

This world is but a canvas to our imagination.
Henry David Thoreau
Having set my phone alarm to ensure I was up in time to meet BobsBlips for our day out photographing I was less than enthused to be delayed by an accident at the first roundabout (looked like a shunt with no injuries) and solid parking on the M4, so I had to detour via A roads over Christchurch to the Coldra; fortunately not too late for my cooked breakfast in Ross-on-Wye and I had chance to enjoy Desert Island Discs en-route.
Bob’s magical mystery tour started at St.Margaret’s Church in the village of the same name in Herefordshire. Beautiful little place with stupendous views across to the Black Mountains, with interiors to match; the most intricate and detailed Rood Screen I’ve seen in a long time. Had a couple of encounters with like-minded spirits who were also visiting churches in the area, with a couple of suggestions for our future expeditions. Exchange of ideas over, they left us to follow their own stars and I settled down for a meditation while Bob did some aerial shots with his quadcopter. When I emerged he’d got a brew on and set up the camping chairs in the shade for a relaxing cuppa to discuss our next stop. Life can be tough.
Headed for Peterchurch in the Golden Valley, but on the way we passed one of the places we’d been recommended by the other visitors, so earmarked that for a visit on the return, time permitting. We arrived at St.Peter’s in time to catch the café open, so coffee was a must, and were royally entertained by a group of hand-bell ringers who were visiting for a lunchtime AGM and had decided on an impromptu practice. Beautiful.
Photos done we headed back to St Bartholomew’s at Vowchurch, my blip for today. Another beautiful and quite compact community church, with a selection of preserves available to buy too (so I now have marmalade for my toast in the morning)! Had a good explore, outside and inside, and when I came back to the car my admirable chauffeur had the kettle on with cream scones to go with our afternoon tea, it just gets better and better. Someone had very considerately put a bench by the river for us to enjoy the setting, magic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.