While on my runs

By waipushrink

Replacements

After the retaining wall had been completed we paid for some soil which was spread over the clay, and (at the lower level) scoria. They planted a number of shrubs or small size trees on the top level to act as a slight barrier to the neighbours' children. 

Unfortunately a lack of rain, inadequate use of the watering system, and the amount of clay under some of the trees led to their failure to survive the summer. Last weekend we bought a half dozen replacements. Today, Mr H and I planted the replacements. 

We were a good team. He dug the holes much more efficiently than I could have. I planted the trees.Together we bagged the clay and a small amount of scoria, which bags Mr H carried to the compost bin. I sprinkled the mix from one bag over the recent additions into the compost bin.

It is pleasurable to work like that with my grandson.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.