CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Arctic Blue Basil plant in flower

Kay and Richard have a plant stall in The Shambles outdoor market every week and I usually stop for a chat with them on my way to my stall which is in the indoor section. I’m usually late, as I set up the stall the evening before, and there isn’t a big rush in the mornings.

Last week I noticed they had a couple of beautiful basil plants in pots which I had to buy as soon as I saw one. It is an Arctic Blue Basil, one I’d never heard of before. Kay picked a leaf from it, scrunched it up and handed it to me to smell. Exquisite. Sold. She grows all her own plants and they are always in very fine condition. A minute later she handed me a special mint too. Mmm.

After I’d paid her, Kay suggested that I take a couple of cuttings from the tips and place them in water. I will do so, but I’m so admiring the flowers on the current shoots which are very pretty, I’ll cut the stems in a day or so. I thought I’d blip the plant for you to admire too. Shame you can’t smell the leaves!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.