springlilly

By springlilly

The Briste

We went on a magical mystery tour & on our travels along Crohy Head stopped at The Briste. It is a 25 metre high sea stack with an arch running through it. The name refers to its similarity to a pair of trousers or breeches. The sea stack is made from a hard metamorphic rock, quartzite. This quartzite was once sand on an ancient shore more than 600 million years ago & which was later changed due to the intense pressure from two continental plates colliding. It is now popular with experienced rock climbers & photographers, but they warn about the steep descent. (Info provided on a sign overlooking the sea stack)
Unfortunately, I didn’t have a landscape lens with me & was too zoomed in with the lens I had, so I took this with my phone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.