Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Meal Beach

Extra : a diving tirrick (Arctic Tern). 

I'm going to write a lot again so please don't feel you have to read everything. 

We went out to eat last night. Shetland mussels for me. Unless you're allergic to shellfish I can't think of anything better. We had planned an evening walk but when we left the restaurant it was raining. It carried on raining all night. It was still wet this morning and looked a bit doubtful. However the rain cleared by about 09:30. Cameraman kindly went to the supermarket while I walked Flora over to the Broch of Clickimin. That's where the tirricks were busy over the water.  We then had a most sustaining brunch at Fjara where we've eaten a good few times. There were some baby oystercatchers there but no seals today. 

After that we pottered over to Burra Isle stopping at Meal Beach for a bracing walk. It's quite breezy today. When we arrived it was pretty quiet but when we left there were a few more people enjoying the sunshine. It really is a beautiful beach. The path to it and the dunes behind were covered in flowers.  

We then went on to East Burra and called in to see Wendy, the maker of Burra Bears. I've now bought 14 bears for family babies and I was able to tell her that the owners of the  first two, now aged 18 and 16, are currently staying in my house while I'm away on holiday. She's always  super friendly and it was good to see her. 

Then we went to see the famous Shetland wallabies which were very cute. Back to the flat and it's time to drink tea before we set out again for another walk. There is some loud music from the flat below. I am not enjoying it. I don't want to be a killjoy but if it carries on I might go and have a friendly word. 

Once again thanks for all the kind comments yesterday. I'm not going to keep up I know. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.