wrbradley

By wrbradley

The Village Orange Hall

In just over eighteen months of documenting the village it occurred to me that I have never photographed this building before, the reason being that it sits in a hollow on the Comber Road and is awkward to frame and I didn't want to enter its grounds, which of course is private property.  Unusually this Orange Hall has a live-in caretaker.  

Often when I am on an evening walk I hear the pipe band practicing.  A friend of mine unkindly said that the best thing for bag pipes was a Stanley Knife!  There are lots of pipe bands in this locality all competing in the pipe band fraternity for the annual championships, they take it very seriously.  In fairness Ballygowan Pipe Band is a quite successful competition band.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.