Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

National Memorial Arboretum - 1944

L suggested a visit to the National Memorial Arboretum near Alrewas.  It's free entry, you just have to pay for parking (best done in advance, you save 33%).

We took a gentle stroll around the extensive grounds as my Achilles is still playing up.  Since my first visit 20 years ago the trees have matured, many more memorials have been established and it is much easier to get around, even if you use a wheelchair or mobility scooter.

They have a 1944 exhibition, complete with an Anderson Shelter and mock up of a 1940s sitting room.  I say 1940s, but it was like going back in time to my youth with many items I grew up with in my parents' house.  The most memorable is this Beryl ware crockery in jade.  I can remember using this in my Mom's house up until she moved into a nursing home in the mid 2010s.  They also made it in yellow and pink, but it was this colour that seemed most popular.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.