Look Out

By chrisf

Climbing up on Solsbury Hill

My host (who I haven’t met) provided a note on a 50 minute circular walk from the Tea Pavilion (my accommodation), with St Catherine’s Court as its central point, so I decided to do that after breakfast. I did a bit of googling, and discovered that the mansion is Grade 1 listed (and the Gardens are grade 2), was bought by actress Jane Seymour in 1984, and is where Radiohead, The Cure, Joy Division and Robbie Williams have all recorded. No idea who the present owner is, but signs make it clear it’s very private. Photo in extras.

I didn’t return to the pavilion but headed south and using my newly acquired 1:2500 map walked another circuit taking in Little Solsbury Hill. I’ve only known it as Peter Gabriel’s first solo single up to now (and had to play that on my return to wi-fi land). The views across the city of Bath are quite stunning from the summit.

One additional extra. Sitting outside this afternoon (my feet needed a rest) I heard loud buzzing, and a large insect going into and out of the eaves of the Pavilion. I will keep a respectful distance from the hornet, although it is a beauty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.