and through the wire...

By hesscat

This Way Up

Jess found a new box to sleep in, I think she's been avoiding me..For a few months she's had a mat in her fur that's been growing, she's getting old and can't reach her back legs to groom them. The more we tried to help, the more she resisted and we were on the verge of taking her to the vets to put her under which would have allowed them to shave it. Apart from the cost, it was a concern to put her through that. 

Instead we got our own clippers and over the past month got her used to them, then kept clipping away bit by bit to expose the mat, which was maybe 2" by 1". In the last few days I've got 2 or 3 chunks off with a big bit today leaving a small bit left but will give her a break. It's a bit of a relief, for her too I guess, and hopefully we can soon get back into the brushing regime but I think we'll also keep it trimmed a bit now to help avoid it. Poor lass, enjoy the box Jess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.