Pompeii

We finally made it out of Sorrento today to visit Pompeii.

This was part of the reason we choose Sorrento as we have wanted to visit Pompeii for a very long time. I was hoping to blip a photo from there but to be honest, all of my photos were pants. I was so interested in what our guide was telling us and all that there was to see that I wasn't concentrating on taking photos.

It was just fab, fab, fab.

I have a feeling I will have to get out my Colleen McCullough books again as it has rekindled my interest in ancient Rome. I could almost imagine myself living in the fantastic villa that we toured.

Hubby choose our restaurant tonight to celebrate his birthday which is on Friday. This was taken just outside the entrance to the restaurant. We sat on the terrace that you can see on the left hand side, and watched the sun go down as we ate our meal which was by far the best meal we have had in Sorrento.

Much as we have enjoyed our holiday I much prefer Tuscany. The quality of food and wine is much superior in Tuscany, although perhaps a little more expensive. I feel that here everything is a little more commercial to serve the tourists.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.